July 12, 2017

Dear AMCD Family,

Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development LogoIt is an honor to be taking on the leadership of AMCD for the year 2017-18. I am excited to work with our ethnic community representatives as well as collaborate with leaders from other divisions such as ALGBTIC, CSJ, ASERVIC, and CES. These collaborations and others are aimed at acknowledging and strengthening our intersectional identities. My goals for the next year are three-fold: (1) become the Multicultural consultant voice to ACA, (2) assure that our ethnic communities are being served by certified MSJ counselors, and (3) respond to the care and needs of counselors, supervisors, and counselor educators who diligently serve our communities as they face traumatic events related to racism and marginalization.

I am fortunate to have a wonderful crew of counselors that are invested in our multicultural communities and our beloved AMCD. Our Executive Council Board Members are committed to collaboration for the greater good of our professional and client communities. Our Vice Presidents of Ethnic Concerns have already begun their collaborative work and are active in reaching out and increasing our awareness of current issues in our communities. The Regional Representatives are actively working with state branches to enhance our local influence in multicultural and social justice issues. Our Committee Chairs are recharging and creating innovative avenues to increase our membership services, revenue, community service, human rights awareness, and last but absolutely not least, coordinating a meaningful and inclusive conference to enrich our knowledge, heart, and spirits.

I look forward to working with all of members. Please let me know how I can be of service to you.

Best wishes,

Diane Estrada, Ph.D., LMFT
President
2017-2018
dianee306@gmail.com


Presidents:

Diane Estrada, President
dianee603@gmail.com

Shon Smith, President Elect
amcdleader2018@gmail.com

Kimberly Frazier, Past President
knfrazier@netzero.net

Vice Presidents of Ethic Concerns:

Kim Lee Hughes, African American Concerns
kimlee.hughes@utsa.edu

June Hyun, Asian American Concerns
jhyun@spu.edu

Margarita Martinez, Latin@ Concerns
margaritamaria27@gmail.com

Isaac Burt, Native American Concerns
iburt@fiu.edu

Representatives:

Angela Coker, Midwestern Region
angelacoker@hotmail.com

Tiphanie Gonzalez, North Atlantic Region
tiphie.gonzal@gmail.com

Asha Dickerson, Southern Region
ashasd@aol.com

Sharon Bowles, Western Region
airshay2@cs.com

Kent Butler, Council Representative
skbutler@ucf.edu

Michelle Mitchell, Student Representative
MDMitchell@Knights.ucf.edu

Cheryl Sawyer, Secretary
Sawyer@uhcl.edu

Harrison Davis, Treasurer
harrison2@gmail.com

Edil Torres Rivera, Parliamentarian
etorresrivera@gmail.com

Committee Chairs:

Laurie Vargas, Awards
VargasL2@sfusd.edu

Cirecie Olatunji, JMCD
colatunj@xula.edu

Tianka Pharoah, Membership
tiankap@gmail.comm

Mary Hufstead, Conference Committee
Mfrancis17@student.gsu.edu

Tianka Pharoah, Conference Committee
tiankap@gmail.comm